Skip to main content

Meet the Team

The CSU TK Pre-Service Preparation Project Team coordinates with the Advisory Committee to facilitate regular communication and collaboration with initiatives addressing Early Childhood Education and Transitional Kindergarten issues, resources, and current projects being lead by committee members. The Advisory Committee provides feedback regarding the project’s modules and their use, and assists in aligning the CSU TK project with other major pre-service and professional development initiatives.

CSU TK Pre-Service Preparation Project Team

head shot lisa kirtman

Lisa Kirtman

Elementary & Bilingual Education Cal State Fullerton

Email: lkirtman@fullerton.edu

head shot kim norman

Kim Norman

Elementary & Bilingual Education Cal State Fullerton

Email: knorman@fullerton.edu

head shot of Sharon Chappell

Sharon Chappell

Elementary & Bilingual Education Cal State Fullerton

Email: schappell@fullerton.edu

head shot janice myck-wayne

Janice Myck-Wayne

Special Education
Cal State Fullerton

Email: jmyck-wayne@fullerton.edu

head shot hallie yopp slowik

Hallie Yopp Slowik

Elementary & Bilingual Education,
Cal State Fullerton

Email: hyopp@fullerton.edu

shadow image for shelia arnold

Shelia Arnold

Orange County
Department of Education

Email: SArnold@ocde.us

head shot peg winkelman

Peg Winkelman

Special Education
Cal State Fullerton

Email: peg.winkelman@csueastbay.edu

head shot ruth yopp-edwards

Ruth Yopp-Edwards

Elementary & Bilingual Education
Cal State Fullerton

Email: ryopp@fullerton.edu

head shot Valerie Helgren-Lempesis

Valerie Helgren-Lempesis

Department of Teacher Education
CSU East Bay

Email: valerie.helgren-lempesis@csueastbay.edu

Promoting the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

The CSU Transitional Kindergarten Community is based upon the concept of a “teaching commons” whereby the community of CSU early childhood education, child development, and other faculty and partners in school districts and a range of organizations can together advance preparation of Transitional Kindergarten teachers through sharing of ideas, practices, information, and resources.

Another CSU-MERLOT Partnership

CSU faculty and partners engaged in the preparing of Transitional Kindergarten teachers can share high quality resources and make them available through this web site and through the Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT - ). MERLOT provides CSU faculty an opportunity to "publish" online, to develop comprehensive personal collections of valuable resources, and to make contributions to this growing digital library.